You are here: Care Student health insurance > Learning, Living and Studying in Germany > language students > Language Tests
Sprachkurs in Deutschland

Language tests and language certificates

Why do language schools conduct language tests?

Warum einen SprachtestLanguage courses and especially language trips to Germany are a good way to gain experience abroad in Germany and get to know the German culture. But of course the main goal of language courses is to improve your foreign language skills, for example to complete an internship abroad or a semester abroad in Germany or to have better chances on the German job market. Whether you need a certain level of competency for your studies at a German university or would like to improve your business language, there are special tests and certificates for all these areas.

In order to be able to demonstrate your abilities in as much detail as possible, language tests are standardized. These are often offered directly by the universities, but there are also numerous other institutes and centers. The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). is now used to classify language levels throughout Europe. Proficiency levels range from A1 for beginners to C2 for experts. The levels are not only suitable for foreign languages, but for one’s native language as well.

Many language schools or institutes organize their language courses in such a way that they are aimed at a specific target group, the participants of which all share the same general language level. This not only ensures a pleasant, frustration-free learning experience, but also ensures that every student completes the final test with good results. Before you attend a language course , , you can take an online placement test to determine your current language level. You can then know which course is right for you or how to prepare for the course. You will find here an online version of a general German test.

To study at a German university you need to have very good command of the German language.

You should keep in mind that you will be asked to demonstrate your knowledge of German with a language certificate. Usually only 2 certificates are accepted: TestDaF (Test Deutsch als Fremdsprache or, in English, test for German as a foreign language) and DSH (Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang or, in English, German language test for university/college admission).

TestDaF

TestDaFThe TestDaF is the most important language test for German, as it is recognized by most German universities and you, therefore, are on the safe side. The language assessment of the TestDaF is based on the CEFR, but, in order to pass the test, the participants must demonstrate a minimum level of B2, according to the CEFR, or level 3, according to the TestDaF. As a rule, however, German universities require level 4 as an admissions requirement when enrolling.
Due to this high level, examinations are carried out in the following areas:

  • reading comprehension
  • listening comprehension
  • Written expression
  • Oral expression



You can register online for the test on the TestDaF-homepage.

DSH (German language test for university/college admission)

DSH The DSH is aimed exclusively at foreign applicants for studies in Germany and is compulsory for enrollment into a university/college as long as you have not received a comparable certificate from the Goethe-Institut or the TestDaF.

For a semester abroad or summer course in Germany , during which you only spend part of your studies at a German university, you usually do not need a DSH certificate. If you have to re-learn German to study in Germany, it is particularly helpful to complete this course and receive the certificate , as you will also be tested for academic knowledge and language skills necessary for your studies.

There are also language courses that prepare you specifically for this language test. The examination consists to a large extent, as your studies, of written exercises/production and approx. 20% of listening comprehension tasks.

Costs
Most of the time you will have to take the test at your future university. The examination fees are determined by your university and range from 40 to 170 euro.

B1 Zertifikat German (Goethe-Institut)

Goethe B1 ZertifikatThe B1 certificate of the Goethe-Institut is one of the best-known German language tests and is, therefore, particularly well known and recognized. Although the B1 certificate is evaluated according to CEFR guidelines, it does not fulfill university/college admission requirements. Nevertheless, it can help you find a job in Germany during a summer course or Work and Travel trip.
As a language institute, the Goethe-Institut also offers language courses that prepare you for the exam in the following areas of competence:

  • reading comprehension
  • Vocabulary and grammar
  • Writing
  • speaking

You can take the exams in a Goethe-Institut test center as well as at various universities and language schools.

Care Student Newsletter

You want exclusive information on living, learning and studying in Germany and worldwide? Then subscribe to our Care Student Newsletter!
Ms.  Mr. 


I hereby declare that I agree that the operator of the Care Student Portal, Care Concept AG, may regularly inform me via newsletter about information about living, learning and studying in Germany and worldwide. I can revoke this consent at any time.

Further information on the use of recipient data can be found in our data protection declaration at www.care-student.de/datenschutz_eng.php


Au pair

What better way to get to know German culture, learn German language and discover Germany than living in a host family in Germany as an au pair?

Work & Holiday

You want to experience a little adventure and don't know yet how to continue after your A-levels? Then take advantage of the countless working holiday opportunities in Germany

Students in Germany

If you already know exactly where your future career should take you, you can jump straight into your studies in Germany.

Student exchange

Sauerkraut, cows, and Berlin. If that's your dream, do a student exchange year.

TOP subject:
Health insurance for language students in Germany

Probably you have dealt little with the topic of health insurance in Germany so far. No problem! We have compiled important information for you, e.g. when you need health insurance in Germany.


Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFind a suitable health insurance for students, interns, language students...


Where are you coming from? What's your destination? For how long? What's the reason for your stay abroad? How old are you?
Wo kommst du her?
What's your destination?
For how long?
What's the reason for your stay abroad?
How old are you?

Du befindest Dich hier: Care Student Krankenversicherung > Leben, Lernen, Studieren in Deutschland > Sprachkurs > Sprachtest
Sprachkurs in Deutschland

Sprachtests und Sprachzertifikate

Warum führen Sprachschulen Sprachtests durch

Warum einen SprachtestSprachkurse und insbesondere Sprachreisen nach Deutschland eignen sich gut dazu, Auslandserfahrungen in Deutschland zu sammeln und die deutsche Kultur kennenzulernen. Aber natürlich ist das Hauptziel von Sprachkursen, seine Fremdsprachenkenntnisse zu verbessern, zum Beispiel um ein Auslandspraktikum oder ein Auslandssemester in Deutschland zu absolvieren oder bessere Chancen auf dem deutschen Arbeitsmarkt zu haben. Ob du nun eine bestimmte Kompetenzstufe für dein Studium an einer deutschen Uni brauchst oder die Geschäftssprache verbessern möchtest, für alle diese Bereiche gibt es spezielle Tests und Zertifikate.

Um seine Fähigkeiten möglichst detailiert nachweisen zu können, sind Sprachtests vereinheitlicht. Häufig werden diese direkt durch die Universitäten angeboten, es gibt aber auch zahlreiche weitere Institute und Anlaufstellen. Zur Einstufung des Sprachniveaus wird mittlerweile der Gemeinsame Europäische Referenzrahmen für Sprachen verwendet. Danach gibt es die Kompetenzstufen A1 für Anfänger bis C2 für Experten. Die Einstufungen eignen sich nicht nur für Fremdsprachen, sondern auch für die Muttersprache selbst.

Viele Sprachschulen oder Sprachinstitute gestalten ihren Sprachunterricht so, dass er auf eine bestimmte Zielgruppe ausgerichtet ist, deren Sprachniveau vergleichbar ist. Das sorgt nicht nur für ein angenehmes, frustfreies Lernen, sondern stellt auch sicher, dass jeder Sprachschüler den abschließenden Test gut abschließt. Bevor du einen Sprachkurs besuchst, kannst du durch einen Einstufungstests dein aktuelles Sprachniveau auch online ermitteln und weißt, wie du dich vorbereiten musst oder welcher Sprachkurs der richtige für dich ist. Hier findest du eine gute Online-Version eines allgemeinen Tests für Deutsch.

Für das Studium an einer deutschen Universität werden sehr gute Sprachkenntnisse in Deutsch vorausgesetzt.

Dabei solltest du bedenken, dass du diese Kenntnisse mit einem Sprachzertifikat belegen musst. Dabei werden in der Regel auch nur 2 Zertifikate akzeptiert: TestDaF (Test Deutsch als Fremdsprache) und DSH (deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang).

TestDaF

TestDaFDer TestDaF ist der wichtigste Sprachtest für Deutsch, da er von der meisten deutschen Hochschulen anerkannt wird und du somit auf "Nummer sicher" gehen kannst. Die Spracheinstufung des TestDaF orientiert sich am GER, die bestehenden Teilnehmer müssen aber mindestens das Sprachniveau B2 nach dem GER bzw. Niveaustufe 3 nach dem TestDaF vorweisen können. In der Regel fordern deutsche Hochschulen allerdings die Niveaustufe 4 als Zulassungsvoraussetzung bei der Einschreibung.
Aufgrund des hohen Niveaus wird in folgenden Bereichen geprüft

  • Leseverstehen
  • Hörverstehen
  • Schriftlicher Ausdruck
  • Mündlicher Ausdruck



Zum Test kannst du dich auf der TestDaF-homepage online anmelden.

DSH (Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang)

DSH Die DSH ist ausschließlich auf ausländische Studienbewerber für ein Studium in Deutschland ausgerichtet und ist für die Einschreibung verpflichtend, solange du nicht ein vergleichbares Zertfikat vom Goethe-Institut, oder dem TestDaF bestanden hast.

Für ein Auslandssemester in Deutschland oder einen Sommerkurs in Deutschland , wo du nur einen Teil deines Studium an einer deutschen Universität verbringst, brauchst du meist kein DSH-Zertifikat. Wenn du Deutsch zum Studium in Deutschland neu erlernen musst, ist es besonders hilfreich, dieses Zertifikat abzuschließen, da du hier auch auf wissenschaftliche und für das Studium notwendige Sprachkenntnisse hin geprüft wirst.

Außerdem gibt es auch passende Sprachkurse, die dich gezielt auf diesen Sprachtest vorbereiten. Die Prüfung besteht zu einem großen Teil, wie auch dein Studium aus schriftlicher Produktion und zu ca. 20% aus Hörverstehensaufgaben.

Kosten
Meistens musst du den Test an deiner zukünftigen Universität ablegen. Die Prüfungsgebühren bestimmt deine Universität und liegen zwischen 40 und 170 EUR.

B1 Zertifikat Deutsch (Goethe-Institut)

DELFDas B1 Zertifikat des Goethe-Instituts gehört zu den bekanntesten deutschen Sprachtests und ist dementsprechend besonders bekannt und anerkannt. Da sich das Zertifikat im B1 nach dem GER einsortiert, ist es jedoch nicht als Hochschulzulassung akzeptiert. Nichtsdestotrotz wird es dir etwa bei einem Work and Travel, oder Sommerkurs helfen, einen Job in Deutschland zu finden.
Als Sprachinstitut bietet das Goethe-Institut zudem entsprechende vorbereitende Sprachkurse an, die dich auf die Prüfung in den Kompetenzbereichen

  • Leseverstehen
  • Wortschatz und Grammatik
  • Schreiben
  • Sprechen

Die Prüfungen kannst du sowohl in einem Testcenter des Goethe-Instituts als auch an Universitäten und Sprachschulen ablegen.

Care Student Newsletter

Du willst exklusive Informationen zum Leben, Lernen und Studieren in Deutschland und weltweit? Dann melde dich zu unserem Care Student Newsletter an!
Frau  Herr 


Hiermit erkläre ich mich einverstanden, dass der Betreiber des Care Student Portals, die Care Concept AG, mich per Newsletter regelmäßig über Informationen zum Thema Leben, Lernen, Studieren in Deutschland und weltweit informieren darf. Diese Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit widerrufen.

Weitere Hinweise zur Nutzung der Empfängerdaten findest du in unserer Datenschutzerklärung unter www.care-student.de/datenschutz.php


GAP-Year

Vielleicht bist du dir aber auch noch nicht sicher, ob und was du studieren möchtest. Dann ist das Gap Year die ideale Lösung für dich. Gap Year heißt Auszeit...

Work & Holiday

Du möchtest ein kleines Abenteuer erleben und weißt noch nicht, wie es nach der Schule weitergehen soll? Dann nutz doch die unzäligen Working Holiday Möglichkeiten in Deutschland

Studenten in Deutschland

Wenn du schon genau weißt, wo es beruflich später für dich hingehen soll, kannst du dich direkt ins Studium in Deutschland stürzen.

Schüleraustausch

Sauerkraut, Kühe oder das hippe Berlin.. Wenn das dein Traum ist, dann nimm doch teil an einem Schüleraustausch

TOP-Thema:
Krankenversicherung für Sprachschüler in Deutschland

Wahrscheinlich hast du dich bisher wenig mit dem Thema Krankenversicherung in Deutschland auseinandergesetzt. Kein Problem! Wir haben wichtige Informationen für dich zusammengestellt, z.B. wann du in Deutschland eine Krankenversicherung benötigst.


Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFinde die passende Krankenversicherung für Studenten, Sprachschüler...


Wo kommst du her ? Wo willst du hin ? Für wie lange? Du machst was? Wie alt bist du?
Wo kommst du her?
Wo willst du hin?
Für wie lange?
Was machst du?
Wie alt bist du?