You are here: Care Student health insurance > Living, Learning, Studying worldwide > After school > Work'n'Travel
After school Work'n'Travel

After school: Work'n' Travel - work experience, self-discovery and language learning abroad

The fact that foreign language skills are important key professional qualifications is no longer a secret. However, you don't learn a language really well at school or university, but abroad. Because here you are not only surrounded by native speakers, but you also get to know the culture behind the language live.

Especially interesting and popular is a Work'n'Travel, where you travel through an interesting country and finance yourself with small jobs. Below you will find some food for thought about what you should consider:

Work'n' Travel: Which destination is right for you?

Work'n Travel Which destination is right for you?In order to find the right destination, you first have to find out for yourself what the reason for your adventure should be, probably there are even several:
You probably want to get to know the world and people again without any obligations or time constraints and pave the way for your future professional life.
Would you like to start studying or do an internship in a foreign company? Your trip will certainly help you make the right decision. You certainly also want to improve your foreign language skills without having to swot.

Surely you know that many of them travel to Australia or New Zealand after their Abitur. The reason is not only the great scenery and culture, but also that both countries are great for work'n'travel. The local economy relies on entertaining hiring of unskilled workers, which will make it easy for you to find jobs there.

But even if you want to learn Spanish or Chinese, there are ways and means to find jobs, because many agencies and temporary companies have recognized the need not only among travelers, but also companies have discovered the benefits of foreign workers.

Work'n TravelWhat should you think about before your Work'n'Travel and what decisions should you make?

Work'n'Travel OrganizationAfter you have found your destination, it's time to organize your trip:
Of course, you shouldn't plan everything from the beginning, because the freedom of planning is one of the advantages of Work'n'Travel.

Nevertheless, you need a good starting point that offers you sufficient financial resources and the peace and quiet to take further steps. You should start planning early, because you also need to do some paperwork.

To stay in a foreign country for a longer period of time and then work there, you need a visa. In New Zealand and Australia there is an extra Work'n'Travel Visa, which you can apply for online. Nevertheless, the application can take up to 6 weeks. The visa is then valid for exactly 1 year. More about the Work'n Travel in Australia and More about the Work'n Travel Visa in New Zealand What else you have to think about:


  • Apply for an International Driving Licence
  • Get a credit card, because you won't get far abroad with a giro card.
  • Good luggage, like a good backpack.

Especially important for your trip is an international health insurance, because your statutory health insurance is only limited within the EU and not at all in the rest of the world. This will give you financial security and help if your health is not well. You can get them at a low price, for example with Care Global International Health Insurance.

Finances Work'n TravelWork'n'Travel: How to finance?

Work'n'Travel FinancesSurely you are asking yourself how much money you should take with you and how much you have to pay for your flight and equipment. First of all, you should know that the Australian and New Zealand immigration authorities will occasionally check your visa application to see if you have enough money to get by without a job. This limit is currently 3,500 euros or 5,000 Australian dollars, which is quite a lot. Of course you don't have to spend it all.

To apply for a visa you should also get a credit card, because you already need one to apply for your visa. There are also cheap credit cards without guide fees, but you should make sure that the payment period, i.e. the time you do not have to pay interest, is longer than the next repayment and that you repay the full amount monthly, so that you do not have to pay interest.

Your flight will certainly cost you between 1,000-2,000 euros, depending on when you book and fly.

Work'n Travel: Find a jobWork'n Travel: Find a job

Work'n Travel: Find a jobA great uncertainty for many backpackers is finding a job. In Australia and New Zealand this is not a big problem for you. The economy relies on short-time workers. Since your Working Holiday Visa only allows you to work for an employer for 6 months, you should concentrate on simple jobs where you don't have to be trained for long.

These include jobs as a fruit picker on farms, in bars and restaurants as a waiter, or possibly in smaller office jobs, or on construction sites. You should be aware, however, that you may need certificates for certain jobs. If you want to work as a bartender, for example, you need an RSA (Responsible Service of Alcohol), which you can quickly get for about 24 Australian dollars in an online course, or a white card for jobs on a construction site.

The most effective ways to find a job are usually the simple ones: Maybe you'll create a short resume and distribute it to stores you'd like to work in, or you'll just talk to people directly. If you would like to find an office job and may already have work experience from your home country, you can also apply to job agencies, which are located in almost every city in Australia. For backpackers, there are even special working holiday hostels to help you find a job.

In other countries, such as the USA, it is a bit more difficult to find a job. You will need a job commitment when you apply for a visa. Here you should definitely look for a working holiday agency.

Health insurance for Work'n TravelHealth insurance for Work'n Travel

Health insurance for Work'n Travel

For your Working'n'Travel it is best to take out an international health insurance. We have developed a special health insurance plan, the Care College, so that you are well covered when you are abroad. If you want to start studying later, take out the low-cost and high-performing private full health insurance Care Student or join a statutory health insurance company. In both cases you've come to the right place!

Studenten

Wenn du schon genau weißt, wo es beruflich später für dich hingehen soll, kannst du dich direkt ins Studium stürzen.

Language course

Speaking of language skills: Have you ever thought about a language course?

Au pair

What better way to get to know other cultures, learn a language and discover the world than living in a host family as an au pair?

Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr

You don't feel like studying yet and Au-Pair, or Work'n'Travel is too boring for you? Then do a FSJ

TOP subject:
Health insurance for the time after school

Probably you have dealt little with the topic of health insurance so far. No problem! We have compiled important information for you, e.g. when you need international health insurance.

Care Student Newsletter

You want exclusive information on living, learning and studying in Germany and worldwide? Then subscribe to our Care Student Newsletter!
Ms.  Mr. 


I hereby declare that I agree that the operator of the Care Student Portal, Care Concept AG, may regularly inform me via newsletter about information about living, learning and studying in Germany and worldwide. I can revoke this consent at any time.

Further information on the use of recipient data can be found in our data protection declaration at www.care-student.de/datenschutz_eng.php



Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFind a suitable health insurance for students, interns, language students...


Where are you coming from? What's your destination? For how long? What's the reason for your stay abroad? How old are you?
Wo kommst du her?
What's your destination?
For how long?
What's the reason for your stay abroad?
How old are you?

Du befindest Dich hier: Care Student Krankenversicherung > Leben, Lernen, Studieren Weltweit > Nach der Schule > Work'n'Travel
Nach dem Abitur Work'n'Travel

Nach dem Abitur: Work'n' Travel - Berufserfahrung, Selbstfindung und Sprachen Lernen im Ausland

Dass Fremdsprachenkenntnisse wichtige berufliche Schlüsselqualifikationen sind, ist kein Geheimnis mehr. Richtig gut lernst du eine Sprache allerdings nicht in der Schule oder Uni, sondern im Ausland. Denn hier bist du nicht nur von Muttersprachlern umzingelt, sondern bekommst auch die Kultur hinter der Sprache live mit.

Besonders interessant und beliebt ist dabei ein Work'n'Travel, bei dem du durch ein interessantes Land reist und dich nebenbei mit kleinen Jobs finanzierst. Nachfolgend findest du einige Denkanstöße dazu, was du beachten solltest:

Welches Reiseziel ist das Richtige für dich?

Work'n Travel PlanungUm das richtige Reiseziel zu finden, musst du erstmal für dich feststellen, was der Grund für dein Abenteuer sein soll, wahrscheinlich sind es sogar mehrere:
Du möchtest wahrscheinlich noch einmal ohne Verpflichtungen und Zeitengpässe die Welt und Menschen kennenlernen und den Weg für dein späteres Berufsleben ebnen.
Möchtest du ein Studium beginnen, oder doch noch ein Praktikum in einem ausländischen Unternehmen machen? Deine Reise hilft dir sicher bei der Entscheidung. Bestimmt möchtest du auch noch deine Fremdsprachenkenntnisse verbessern, ohne dabei büffeln zu müssen.

Sicher weißt du, dass viele nach ihrem Abitur nach Australien, oder Neuseeland reisen. Der Grund ist nicht nur die tolle Landschaft und Kultur, sondern auch, dass sich beide Länder super für Work'n'Travel eignen. Die dortige Wirtschaft verlässt sich auf kurzweilige Anstellung von ungelernten Arbeitern, was es dir leicht machen wird, dort Jobs zu finden.

Aber auch, wenn du etwa Spanisch oder Chinesisch lernen möchtest, finden sich Mittel und Wege, Jobs zu finden, denn viele Agenturen und Zeitfirmen haben den Bedarf nicht nur bei Reisenden erkannt, sondern auch Unternehmen haben die Vorzüge von fremden Arbeitskräften entdeckt.

Work'n TravelWoran solltest du vor deinem Work'n'Travel denken und welche Entscheidungen solltest du treffen?

Work'n'Travel OrganisationNachdem du dein Reiseziel gefunden hast, geht es an die Organisation deiner Reise:
Natürlich solltest du nicht von Beginn an alles durchplanen, denn bei der Freiheit der Planung liegt ja einer der Vorzüge des Work'n'Travel.

Trotzdem benötigst du einen guten Startpunkt, der dir genügend finanzielle Mittel und die Ruhe bietet, weitere Schritte zu machen. Mit der Planung solltest du schon recht früh beginnen, denn du musst auch ein wenig Papierkram erledigen.

Um in einem fremden Land über längere Zeit zu bleiben und dort dann auch zu arbeiten, benötigst du ein Visum. In Neuseeland und Australien gibt es dazu ein extra Working Holiday Visum, das du online beantragen kannst. Trotzdem dauert die Beantragung zum Teil bis zu 6 Wochen. Das Visum gilt danach dann genau 1 Jahr. Mehr zum Working Holiday Visum in Autralien und Mehr zum Working Holiday Visum in Neuseeland An was du sonst noch denken musst:


  • Einen internationalen Führerschein beantragen
  • Eine Kreditkarte besorgen, denn im Ausland kommst du mit einer Girokarte nicht weit
  • Gute Gepäckstücke, wie einen guten Rucksack

Besonders wichtig für deine Reise ist eine Auslandskrankenversicherung, denn deine gesetzliche Krankenversicherung gilt innerhalb der EU nur eingeschränkt und im weltweiten Ausland gar nicht. So bekommst du deine finanzielle Absicherung und Hilfe, wenn es dir mal gesundheitlich nicht gut gehen sollte. Die bekommst du schon günstig, beispielsweise mit der Care Global Auslandskrankenversicherung.

Ziel Work'n TravelFinanzen

Work'n'Travel FinanzenSicherlich stellst du dir die Frage, wie viel Geld du mitnehmen solltest und wie viel du überhaupt für deinen Flug und dein Equipment zahlen musst. Dazu solltest du zunächst wissen, dass die australischen und neuseeländischen Einwandererbehörden gelegentlich bei deinem Visumsantrag prüfen, ob du genügend finanzielle Mittel hast, um auch ohne Job klarzukommen. Diese Grenze liegt momentan bei 3.500 Euro bzw. 5.000 australischen Dollars, was schon recht viel ist. Natürlich musst du das nicht alles ausgeben.

Um ein Visum zu beantragen solltest du außerdem eine Kreditkarte besorgen, denn die brauchst du bereits zur Beantragung deines Visums. Es gibt auch günstige Kreditkarten ohne Führungsgebühren, dabei solltest du aber darauf achten, dass das Zahlungsziel d.h. die Zeit in der du keine Zinsen zahlen musst länger als die nächste Rückzahlung ist und du monatlich vollständig zurückzahlst, sodass du keine Zinsen zahlen musst.

Dein Flug wird dich sicherlich zwischen 1.000-2.000 Euro kosten, abhängig davon, wann du buchst und fliegst.

Ziel Work'n TravelJobs finden

Jobs finden Work'n'TravelEine große Unsicherheit ist für viele Backpacker das finden eines Jobs. In Australien und Neuseeland ist das für dich kein großes Problem. Die Wirtschaft verlässt sich auf kurz angestellte Arbeiter. Da du mit deinem Working Holiday Visum nur 6 Monate bei einem Arbeitgeber arbeiten darfst, solltest du dich auf einfache Jobs konzentrieren, bei denen du nicht lang eingelernt werden musst.

Das sind etwa Jobs als Fruitpicker auf Farmen, in Bars und Restaurants als Kellner, oder eventuell auch in kleineren Bürotätigkeiten, oder auf Baustellen. Dabei solltest du aber beachten, dass du zum Teil Zertifikate für bestimmte Jobs brauchst. Möchtest du etwa als Barkeeper arbeiten, brauchst du ein RSA (Responsible Service of Alcohol), das du schnell für etwa 24 australische Dollar in einem Onlinekurs bekommen kannst, oder eine White Card für Jobs auf einer Baustelle.

Die effektivsten Methoden einen Job zu finden, sind meistens die einfachen: Vielleicht erstellst du einen kurzen Lebenslauf und verteilst ihn bei Läden, in denen du gerne arbeiten möchtest, oder du sprichst Leute einfach direkt an. Wenn du einen Bürojob finden möchtest und eventuell schon Arbeitserfahrung aus deiner Heimat hast, kannst du auch bei Jobvermittlungen anfragen, die es in Australien fast in jeder Stadt gibt. Für Backpacker gibt es sogar spezielle Working Holiday Hostels, die dir bei der Jobsuche helfen.

In anderen Ländern wie den USA ist es etwas schwieriger, einen Job zu finden. Hier benötigst du bereits bei der Beantragung des Visums eine Jobzusage. Hier solltest du dir auf jeden Fall eine Working Holiday Agentur suchen.

Krankenversicherung Work'n TravelKrankenversicherung für den Work'n Travel

Krankenversicherung für den Work'n Travel

Für dein Working'n'Travel schließt du am besten eine Auslandkrankenversicherung ab. Wir haben speziell dafür einen Krankenversicherungstarif entwickelt, den Care College, damit du gut abgesichert bist, wenn du dich im Ausland aufhälst. Möchtest du später ein Studium beginnen, die günstige und leistungsstarke private Vollkrankenversicherung Care Student abschließen oder einer gesetzlichen Krankenkasse beitreten. In beiden Fällen bist du bei uns richtig!

Studenten

Wenn du schon genau weißt, wo es beruflich später für dich hingehen soll, kannst du dich direkt ins Studium stürzen.

Sprachkurs

A propos Sprachkenntnisse: Hast du schon mal über einen Sprachkurs nachgedacht?

Au-pair

Was eignet sich besser, um andere Kulturen kennenzulernen, eine Sprache zu lernen und die Welt zu entdecken, als das Leben in einer Gastfamilie als Au-pair?

Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr

Auf ein Studium hast du noch keine Lust und Au-Pair, oder Work'n'Travel ist dir zu langweilig?Dann mach doch ein FSJ

TOP-Thema:
Krankenversicherung für die Zeit nach der Schule

Wahrscheinlich hast du dich bisher wenig mit dem Thema Krankenversicherung auseinandergesetzt. Kein Problem! Wir haben wichtige Informationen für dich zusammengestellt, z.B. wann du eine Auslandskrankenversicherung benötigst.


Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFinde die passende Krankenversicherung für Studenten, Sprachschüler...


Wo kommst du her ? Wo willst du hin ? Für wie lange? Du machst was? Wie alt bist du?
Wo kommst du her?
Wo willst du hin?
Für wie lange?
Was machst du?
Wie alt bist du?