You are here: Care Student health insurance > Living, Learning, Studying worldwide > After school > Highschool Year
After school

High School Year

Adventure High School Year

Highschool health insuranceHigh school health insuranceYellow school buses, long aisles full of looseners, cheerleaders and football players - that's probably how we all imagine an American high school. With a High School Year during your school days, you can experience exactly that and much more live!

A year at a high school in the USA offers you the unique opportunity to improve your English and experience everyday life in the land of unlimited possibilities.


High School Year - what is it exactly?

During a High School Year you spend a whole or half school year at a High School in the USA. You go to school there normally and usually live with an American host family. This not only teaches you the language, but also gives you a deep insight into the life and everyday life of Americans.

There are a number of specialized agencies that take care of the organization of the High School Year. They choose the school and the host family and take care of the flights.

High School Year - what to consider?

High School Year

As a rule, students between the ages of 15 and 18 can complete a High School Year in the USA. It is important that you choose an agency early on to take care of the organization. You or your parents also have to clarify with the school in Germany whether you are allowed to do a High School Year and if necessary have to repeat the school year in Germany.

Since a High School Year is not quite cheap, you must of course talk to your parents about whether they can and want to finance your stay in the USA. You also need a visa in any case, either the J1 or the F1 visa. Your agency will certainly help you with the application. Nevertheless, you always have to go to a US consulate in Munich or Frankfurt or to the embassy in Berlin in order to get a visa. More information about applying for a visa for the USA.

Some agencies also require proof that your English is so good that you can cope in the USA. This could be a test or a certain grade in English. More about language tests and more about language courses.

High School Year - what will you experience?

Everyday school life in America is very different from that in Germany. There are only a small number of compulsory subjects such as English or Maths. But you have the choice between many electives, which are not available in German schools.

The school year in the USA runs approximately from August to June and is divided into two so-called terms. In between there are two months of summer holidays.

The probability is high that you will be accommodated in a rural area and not in metropolises like New York or Los Angeles. Here you will get to know the real America with your host family, maybe go to football with them and celebrate festivals like Thanksgiving or Halloween.

High School Year – health insurance

High school health insurance

Your parents must in any case take out health insurance for your high school year, because your parents' health insurance most likely pays little or nothing for treatment in the USA.

Since visits to the doctor and hospital stays in the USA are much more expensive than in Germany, a good foreign health insurance is essential. We have developed a special product for stays in the USA, which is also recognized by all American authorities and institutions, the Care College USA. Even if you later do a GAP-Year or study, the Care Concept has the right solutions for you.

Language course

Speaking of language skills: Have you ever thought about a language course?

Au pair

What better way to get to know other cultures, learn a language and discover the world than living in a host family as an au pair?

Work'n'Travel

Gain work experience and get to know languages and the world at the same time? That sounds good to you? Then why not do a Work'n'Travel?

TOP subject:
Health insurance for the time after school

Probably you have dealt little with the topic of health insurance so far. No problem! We have compiled important information for you, e.g. when you need international health insurance.

Care Student Newsletter

You want exclusive information on living, learning and studying in Germany and worldwide? Then subscribe to our Care Student Newsletter!
Ms.  Mr. 


I hereby declare that I agree that the operator of the Care Student Portal, Care Concept AG, may regularly inform me via newsletter about information about living, learning and studying in Germany and worldwide. I can revoke this consent at any time.

Further information on the use of recipient data can be found in our data protection declaration at www.care-student.de/datenschutz_eng.php



Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFind a suitable health insurance for students, interns, language students...


Where are you coming from? What's your destination? For how long? What's the reason for your stay abroad? How old are you?
Wo kommst du her?
What's your destination?
For how long?
What's the reason for your stay abroad?
How old are you?

Du befindest Dich hier: Care Student Krankenversicherung > Leben, Lernen, Studieren Weltweit > Nach der Schule > Highschool
Nach der Schule

High School Year

Abenteuer High School Year

Highschool KrankenversicherungGelbe Schulbusse, lange Gänge voll mit Lockern, Cheerleader und Footballspieler – so stellen wir uns wahrscheinlich alle eine amerikanische High School vor. Mit einem High School Year während deiner Schulzeit kannst du genau das und noch viel mehr live erleben!

Ein Jahr an einer High School in den USA bietet dir die einmalige Möglichkeit, dein Englisch zu verbessern und den Alltag im Land der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten hautnah zu erleben.


High School Year – was ist das eigentlich genau?

Während eines High School Years verbringst du ein ganzes oder ein halbes Schuljahr an einer High School in den USA. Du gehst dort ganz normal zur Schule und lebst in der Regel in einer amerikanischen Gastfamilie. So lernst du nicht nur die Sprache, sondern bekommst auch einen tiefen Einblick in Leben und Alltag der Amerikaner.

Es gibt eine Vielzahl spezialisierter Agenturen, die sich um die Organisation des High School Years kümmern. Sie wählen die Schule und die Gastfamilie aus und kümmern sich um die Flüge.

High School Year – was gib es zu beachten?

High School Year

In der Regel können Schüler zwischen 15 und 18 Jahren ein High School Year in den USA absolvieren. Wichtig ist, dass du dir frühzeitig eine Agentur aussuchst, die sich um die Organisation kümmert. Auch mit der Schule in Deutschland müssen du oder deine Eltern klären, ob du ein High School Year machen darfst und das Schuljahr in Deutschland ggf. wiederholen musst.

Da ein High School Year nicht ganz billig ist, musst du natürlich mit deinen Eltern sprechen, ob sie dir den USA-Aufenthalt finanzieren können und wollen. Du brauchst auch auf jeden Fall ein Visum, entweder das J1- oder das F1-Visum. Deine Agentur hilft dir bestimmt bei der Beantragung. Trotzdem musst du immer persönlich in einem US-Konsulat in München oder Frankfurt oder in der Botschaft in Berlin vorsprechen, um ein Visum zu bekommen. Mehr Infos zur Beantragung von Visa für die USA

Manche Agenturen verlangen auch einen Nachweis, dass dein Englisch so gut ist, dass du in den USA zurechtkommst. Das kann zum Beispiel ein Test oder eine bestimmte Schulnote in Englisch sein. Mehr zu Sprachtests und Mehr zu Sprachkursen

High School Year – was wirst du erleben?

Der Schulalltag in Amerika ist ganz anders als in Deutschland. Dort gibt es nur eine geringe Anzahl Pflichtfächer wie z.B. Englisch oder Mathe. Dafür hast du aber die Wahl zwischen sehr vielen Wahlfächern, die es in deutschen Schulen nicht gibt.

Das Schuljahr in den USA geht ungefähr von August bis Juni und ist aufgeteilt in zwei sogenannte Terms. Dazwischen liegen zwei Monate Sommerferien.

Die Wahrscheinlichkeit ist hoch, dass du in einer ländlichen Gegend und nicht in Metropolen wie New York oder Los Angeles untergebracht wirst. Hier lernst du in deiner Gastfamilie das wahre Amerika kennen, gehst mit ihnen vielleicht zum Football und feierst Feste wie Thanksgiving oder Halloween.

High School Year –Krankenversicherung

Die Highschool Krankenversicherung

Deine Eltern müssen für dein High School Year auf jeden Fall eine Krankenversicherung für dich abschließen, denn die Krankenversicherung deiner Eltern zahlt höchstwahrscheinlich nichts oder nur wenig für Behandlungen in den USA.

Da Arztbesuche und Krankenhausaufenthalte in den USA viel teurer als in Deutschland sind, ist eine gute Auslandskrankenversicherung unerlässlich. Wir haben ein spezielles Produkt für Aufenthalte in den USA entwickelt, das auch von allen amerikanischen Behörden und Institutionen anerkannt wird, den Care College USA Auch wenn du später ein GAP-Year machst oder ein Studium anfängst, hat die Care Concept die passenden Lösungen für dich.

Sprachkurs

A propos Sprachkenntnisse: Hast du schon mal über einen Sprachkurs nachgedacht?

Au-pair

Was eignet sich besser, um andere Kulturen kennenzulernen, eine Sprache zu lernen und die Welt zu entdecken, als das Leben in einer Gastfamilie als Au-pair?

Work'n'Travel

Arbeitserfahrung sammeln und dabei gleichzeitig Sprachen und die Welt kennenlernen? Das hört sich gut für dich an? Dann mach doch ein Work'n'Travel

TOP-Thema:
Krankenversicherung für die Zeit nach der Schule

Wahrscheinlich hast du dich bisher wenig mit dem Thema Krankenversicherung auseinandergesetzt. Kein Problem! Wir haben wichtige Informationen für dich zusammengestellt, z.B. wann du eine Auslandskrankenversicherung benötigst.


Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFinde die passende Krankenversicherung für Studenten, Sprachschüler...


Wo kommst du her ? Wo willst du hin ? Für wie lange? Du machst was? Wie alt bist du?
Wo kommst du her?
Wo willst du hin?
Für wie lange?
Was machst du?
Wie alt bist du?